Nothing (In four parts)

I

Poetry

Is not some

thing I am good at.

I try (maybe not hard enough),

But

somehow

It ends up looking like this.

Damnit.

II

I remember this Ogden Nash book lying around at home. My brother had picked it up, and though I never saw him read it, he knew all the clever ones. Clever chap, my brother.

I remember wondering why stuff in ‘A Pageant of Poems’ couldn’t be like this. I hated that poetry textbook. ‘The Bazaars of Hyderabad’ was rubbish. ‘Jack’ was pointless. The only thing I liked about ‘La Belle Dame Sans Merci’ was its title (and that, it turns out, was pilfered).

I remember being asked to ‘commit them to memory’ (as opposed to ‘by heart-ing them’). I did. But I didn’t like it. I’m not comfortable with confrontation.

I also remember, strangely enough, tripping a classmate on the basketball court as she skipped around muttering “Butterfly, Butterfly” in a nauseatingly saccharine voice. I think I did it on purpose. She needed three stitches on her chin. She later studied Sociology in Delhi, shaved off all the hair on her head, grew it back, and is now a (very beautiful) nurse in France. Some countries have all the luck.

III

TMH and I used to write some pretty funny stuff (we thought) in Prof. Horace Jacob’s Quantum Mechanics class. We’d write a stanza at a time, as the Lego-esque poem slowly took shape. We were both, inevitably, very proud of the end result.

Aforementioned HoJo, meanwhile, talked about falling into a Black Hole in the middle of a crowded market, and backed that up with a complex formula that seemed bogus (but was probably correct). There was creativity in the air.

IV

A friend of mine now is now part of a band that plays Indian folk-fusion. They are the only tri-lingual band I know (unless Usha Uthup has a band), singing in English, Hindi and Kannada. I bet you’ve never heard a Kannada song before. I hadn’t, and I’ve been going to Bangalore every summer since I was two.

It’s a good band. They do stuff they enjoy, and it shows. Not pretentious, not profound. Just pleasant.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Nothing (In four parts)

  1. Han says:

    Hey hey hey! I didn’t know you weren’t into poetry! JC has been blogging about this too.

    It all starts with not liking nursery rhymes. Tsk tsk.

    I liked all the poems you mentioned. Hehe. Poetry was my favourite section of the English paper.

  2. Han says:

    Also: Do you have that massive back-and-forth rhyme we did in class?

  3. Murthy says:

    Nursery Rhymes, torture most vile. I hated it with a ferocity I now reserve only for Manchester United. My parents thought I had a learning disability.

    And, that massive rhyme was in a bag that was stolen from Gywer Hall!

  4. Murthy says:

    Nursery Rhymes, torture most vile. I hated it with a ferocity I now reserve only for Manchester United. My parents thought I had a learning disability.

    And, that massive rhyme was in a bag that was stolen from Gywer Hall!

  5. Han says:

    Once more with feeling, eh?

    Speaking of losing bags of clothing…

  6. JC says:

    Hey I didn’t say I wasn’t into poetry – just that it’s tough to really get into. And that too when you’ve done CBSE at school – we had even crappier poetry.

  7. Perakath says:

    What a delightful post! I haven’t thought of ‘Jack’ in years!

  8. Han says:

    ICSE and ISC poems were brilliant. There’s more to verse than clever rhymes.

  9. Murthy says:

    Hey, I didn’t say I wasn’t into poetry either. I’m just not very good at coming up with it.

    Maybe it’s unfair to call all of it rubbish (there was the occasional Frost). Ah well, to each his own.
    Oh, and I don’t even consider clever rhymes actual poetry.

    Thanks Perakath!

  10. Han says:

    Tell you what. I’m no poet, but this is my take: If you really want to come up with a poem, you need to feel sincerely and relatively strongly about something, and then try and fall into a rhythm of some kind. It is best to avoid attempting a stilted or archaic form, or any kind of parody. It’s important not only to see the poem, but also hear it in recited your head. Sometimes the sounds of words and phrases themselves suggest ideas, as opposed to the other way round.

  11. mincat says:

    what about manu chao! 4 languages at last count.

  12. Murthy says:

    I never did get the hang of Manu Chao. Maybe another listen is due.

    The thing is, I don’t really listen to song lyrics, but I like to have the option. People singing in Spanish tend to lose me at the “Nachos, por favor!”.

  13. Murthy says:

    Oh, and Stephanians in this ghost town, did you hear? HoJo passed away last week. Sad.

  14. Vaibhav says:

    VC passed away on the 10th… got a message from the Alumni Cell (I presume)

  15. man… do u knw where can I find the complete text of “Jack”???

Leave a comment