All Gone To Look For America

I’ve been working for thirteen months now without a break. I’ve managed to run through four different companies, three countries and two bottles of after-shave. I’ve been yelled at, reasoned with, shabaash-ed, cajoled and made to buy lollipops (I kid you not). There’ve been good bosses, nasty bosses and right-royal studs. I have called in sick only thrice and I have shaved every single working day.

I have worked in a steel wire manufacturing plant in China, a startup mobile phone company, a tea shop and a budget hotel. Lunch at work has spanned the culinary spectrum from Tihar-style dal-chawal to white rice with raw shrimp and boiled veggies. One colleague of mine set his car on fire; another had half his face paralysed; yet another slept with that hot lady from accounts (and bragged about it the next day).

I have sung ‘Hey Jude’ at a shady karaoke bar (nobody was drunk). I have lovingly informed a CEO that his company was “a disaster” (everyone was drunk).

And I have made Powerpoint presentations. Lots of them.

So, for the next two weeks, I’m on holiday! My phone will be off, my computer will be in its bag and my liver will be abused. Super.

When I get back to work, I will be working for yet another company – this time for a couple of years. Work will start in Mumbai, but embassy officials permitting, I will be based in some place called Matawan in New Jersey.

Han, Undead, JC , anyone else I know out there – don’t get yourselves deported until after I’ve arrived!

This entry was posted in America, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to All Gone To Look For America

  1. Han says:

    Ooh brilliant. There are multiple reasons for you to be in the US. Nudge nudge wink wink. And New Jersey is not too far from Philly!

    Why did this so-and-so set his car of fire?

  2. JC says:

    Erm…deported from where? Sorry to inform you, but I’m now back in Bangalore. Was in the US for training purposes only, as they say. If however you plan to go to Matawan via Bengaluru, please do call. I have a couple of bottles of duty-free daaru that need to be consumed…

  3. Perakath says:

    Poor fellow, is his face alright now? You should have gone in unshaven just one day. Your last day, perhaps.

  4. Murthy says:

    Y: Yeah yeah. That too! 🙂
    The guy didn’t set his car on fire. It just happened. I was quite pleased, actually – the car was his dowry!

    P: The guy had something called Bell’s Palsy. Looks majorly frightening. But it sorted itself out in a week.

    JC: You’re back? Good show. Had fun? Will call when I’m there (in a couple of days).

  5. Vaibhav says:

    12th best place to raise kids in the US it is.. Matawan

    http://www.businessweek.com/investor/content/nov2007/pi20071115_554425.htm

  6. kal says:

    a few points
    – “three times”, please
    – there are women in accounts? that too attractive ones???
    – you sang?! when you weren’t drunk even!
    – have fun, you lucky sonuva-koffkoff. roofy and i were lamenting last night that only you could pull this off. of course, we were talking only about people we know in common. there’s always ragu.

  7. Murthy says:

    VT: I saw that too. Sucks that that is the only thing the place is known for.

    Kal:
    – I always thought ‘thrice’ was acceptable (if old fashioned). It’s in the dictionary, which is good enough for me!

    – She may have been in HR!

    – I sang. I sang loudly and with gay abandon. And just when I began to make it better better better, ooh! I reached the final chorus. And they laughed and clapped in joy. Polite people, them Chinese. Polite and scarred.

    – Thanks!

  8. Jr says:

    “I have lovingly informed a CEO that his company was “a disaster” (everyone was drunk).”

    Hahahaha!!..

  9. JC says:

    so when do you actually head off to the US? or are you already there?

Leave a comment